Choose your language:
Choose a language Choose a language

Environmental zone Uppsala - Sweden

The environmental zone of Uppsala

Uppsala is a university town in the historical province of Uppland. With a population of approximately 160,000, Uppsala is the fourth largest city in Sweden after Stockholm, Malmö and Gothenborg.

The capital is located in the province of the same name, which was founded in 1634, and covers an area of 48.77 km². The city is divided into 7 districts.

The environmental zone of Uppsala is in force since 01.01.2018. It is located in the city centre on both side of the railway lines.

Further information can be obtained by clicking on the map on the left. Please refer to the table below to find out which driving restrictions apply to which types of vehicle at which times of the day and week in the environmental zone or use or Green-Zones app.

Table overview of the environmental zone

Name of the environmental zone:
Environmental zone Uppsala - Sweden
Date of entry into effect of the zone:
Type of environmental zone:
Permanent, 24 hours a day
Future driving bans:
From 2021, Euro 5 or 8 years after the first registration of the vehicle.
100 €
Area/extension of the environmental zone:
The environmental zone is situated in the city centre on both sides of the railway lines.